Scientific Committee

The IMI Scientific Committee is an advisory group within IMI whose members are top experts from a range of different fields. They are appointed further to suggestions made by the States Representatives Group for a renewable term of two years and participate in their individual capacity. The Scientific Committee currently has 11 members and 2 ad hoc members who were appointed in 2018. The committee members elected Professor Isabelle Bekeredjian-Ding and Professor Dolores Cahill as Chair and Vice-chair respectively.

The role of the Scientific Committee

The Committee gives strategic science-based recommendations to IMI and advises on the continued relevance of the Strategic Research Agenda and the scientific priorities. It is also formally consulted on our topic texts – which are based on the scientific priorities – before our Calls for proposals are launched.

More specifically, the Scientific Committee provides advice on:

  • scientific priorities to be included in the Strategic Research Agenda taking into account related activities in Horizon 2020;
  • scientific priorities to be addressed in the IMI Annual Work Plans;
  • scientific achievements described in the IMI Annual Activity Reports.

When requested by IMI, the members of the Scientific Committee provide their consolidated advice in writing. Scientific Committee members also take part in IMI’s Strategic Governing Groups.

The Scientific Committee Chair attends meetings of the IMI Governing Board as an observer and takes part in the deliberations, but has no voting rights.

More information about the Scientific Committee is available in the Scientific Committee's Rules of Procedure.

Scientific Committee work plan 2019: In mid-2019, the Scientific Committee adopted a work plan which sets out the areas where the committee plans to focus its efforts and provide effective support to IMI during the rest of its mandate. The work plan covers both topics related to IMI2 JU’s governance and structures as well as topics related to the research programme. Recommendations resulting from the work plan will be published on this page.

Recommendations issued by the Scientific Committee


Cooperation with the IMI States Representatives Group

The Scientific Committee collaborates with the IMI States Representatives Group. The two bodies meet once a year to exchange views and discuss common areas of interest, such as IMI’s scientific priorities, and ways to enhance involvement of SMEs and patients into IMI activities. 

View a diagram of how the two bodies interact during their advisory process

Interested in learning more about the role of these advisory bodies in IMI and how they collaborate? Watch our 2017 interview with Maria Beatriz Da Silva Lima and Marta Gómez Quintanilla, who were chairs of the Scientific Committee and the IMI States Representatives Group respectively at the time.


The mandate of the current Scientific Committee members runs from 1 October 2018 to 30 September 2020. 



Isabelle Bekeredjian-Ding


Head of Division Microbiology, Paul-Ehrlich-Institut, Langen, GERMANY





Dolores Cahill


Professor of Translational Science, School of Medicine, University College Dublin (UCD) and Principal Investigator, UCD Conway Institute of Biomolecular and Biomedical Research, Dublin, IRELAND; Co-founder PROTAGEN AG, Dortmund, GERMANY





Kjetil Taskén


Professor of Medicine, University of Oslo and Head and Director of Institute of Cancer Research, Oslo University Hospital, NORWAY




Merete Osler


Clinical Professor, Section of Epidemiology, Department of Public Health, University of Copenhagen; consultant, Center for Clinical Research and Prevention, Bispebjerg and Frederiksberg Hospitals, DENMARK





Anna Chioti


MD in charge of the creation of the Agency for Medicines and Health Products, Directorate of Health, Ministry of Health, LUXEMBOURG




Zoltán Kaló


Professor Health Economics, Centre for Health Technology Assessment, Semmelweis University, Budapest, HUNGARY






Paula M Alves


CEO / iBET – Instituto Biologia Experimental e Tecnologica; Associate Professor & Principal Investigator/ ITQB & FCT - NOVA New University of Lisbon, PORTUGAL





Alfonso Valencia


Life Sciences Department Director / BSC – Barcelona Supercomputing Center;
ICREA Research Professor;
Head of the Spanish node of ELIXIR; Director / Spanish National Bioinformatics Institute, SPAIN





Tanel Tenson


Professor of molecular biology at the Institute of Technology, University of Tartu, ESTONIA





Claas Röhl


President NF Kinder;  President EUPATI Austria; President NF Patients United, AUSTRIA





Olivier Blin


Professor of Pharmacology at Aix-Marseille University, FRANCE




Corinne de Vries

ad hoc member

Head of Science and Innovation Support, Human Medicines Research & Development Support Division, European Medicines Agency, Amsterdam, THE NETHERLANDS





Eduard Montanya

ad hoc member

Senior Professor of Medicine at the University of Barcelona; Head of the Diabetes Section of Bellvitge University Hospital; Coordinator of the Diabetes and Metabolism Research Program at IDIBELL; Scientific Director of CIBERDEM, SPAIN