Skip to main content

Joint declaration on harassment


Together, we the Heads of EU agencies and Joint undertakings commit to zero tolerance towards sexual harassment and we cannot and will not accept harassment of any form in our agencies. We take it upon ourselves to communicate to our staff that harassment in the workplace is never acceptable. We have committed ourselves in accordance with existing laws and particularly the staff regulation, to promote diversity at work and provide our staff with a trusted place in which to work.

Equality is one of the fundamental values on which the European Union is built. Gender-based violence, including sexual harassment, is one of the most extreme manifestations of inequality and discrimination.

Sexual violence and harassment contradict the principle of gender equality and equal treatment. They constitute gender-based discrimination in employment. Cases of sexual harassment and bullying, while significantly underreported, are a matter of health, safety and well-being in the workplace and need to be responded to effectively and in accordance with existing laws.


Heads of EU agencies/Joint Undertakings:

Philippe Mengal                                Bio-based Industries Joint Undertaking (BBI JU)

Tiit Jürimäe                                         Clean Sky Joint Undertaking (CLEANSKY)

Martin Ekvad                                      Community Plant Variety Office (CPVO)

Bert De Colvenaer                            ECSEL JU

Pascal Legai                                        EU Satellite Centre (SATCEN)

Christa Sedlatschek                         European Agency for Safety and Health at Work (EU-OSHA)

Krum Garkov                                      European Agency for the operational management of large-scale IT systems in the area of freedom, security and justice (eu-LISA)

Jose Carreira                                      European Asylum Support Office (EASO)

Patrick Ky                                            European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)

Adam Farkas                                      European Banking Authority (EBA)

Fabrice Leggeri                                 European Border and Coast Guard Agency (Frontex)

Andrea Ammon                                European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC)

Joachim James Calleja                    European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training (Cedefop)

Hans Bruyninckx                               European Environment Agency (EEA)

Pascal Savouret                                 European Fisheries Control Agency (EFCA)

Bernhard Url                                      European Food Safety Authority (EFSA)

Juan Menéndez-Valdés                  European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions (Eurofound)

Carlo des Dorides                             European GNSS Agency (GSA)

Virginija Langbakk                           European Institute for Gender Equality (EIGE)

Martin Kern                                        European Institute of Innovation & Technology (EIT)

Fausto Parente                                  European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority  (EIOPA)

Markku Mylly                                     European Maritime Safety Agency (EMSA)

Guido Rasi                                          European Medicines Agency (EMA)

Alexis Goosdeel                                European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMCDDA)

Verena Ross                                       European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA)

Cesare Onestini                                European Training Foundation (ETF)

Rob Wainwright                               European Union Agency for Law Enforcement Cooperation (Europol)

Detlef Schröder                                European Union Agency for Law Enforcement Training (CEPOL)

Udo Helmbrecht                              European Union Agency for Network and Information Security (ENISA)

Josef Doppelbauer                          European Union Agency for Railways (ERA)

Antonio Campinos                          European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO)

Nick Panagiotopoulos                    European Union's Judicial Cooperation Unit (Eurojust)

Bart Biebuyck                                    Fuel Cells and Hydrogen Joint Undertaking (FCH)

Michael O'Flaherty                          Fundamental Rights Agency (FRA)

Johannes Schwemmer                  Fusion for Energy (F4E)

Pierre Meulien                                  Innovative Medicines Initiative (IMI)

Laszlo Igneczi                                   Office of the Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC Office)

Florian Guillermet                           SESAR Joint Undertaking

Carlo Borghini                                  Shift2Rail Joint Undertaking (S2R)

Elke König                                         Single Resolution Board (SRB)

Máire Killoran                                   Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union (Cdt)


The European Union has established decentralised agencies to carry out specific legal, operational, technical or scientific tasks within the EU. These agencies are autonomous EU bodies and add value by helping to implement policies, enhance dialogue and share information and expertise on a range of topics. EU agencies also provide practical support to Member States and the EU institutions. More information about the EU agencies’ network can be found at